To think, or not to think, that is the question.

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”
-William Shakespeare, Hamlet

I’ve read Julius Caesar, Romeo and Juliet and Othello- but none of these have ever come close to my new found love for Hamlet. Maybe it’s because I can relate to the ill-fated protagonist, Prince Hamlet, who no one seems to understand. While I can’t say I’ve had a close encounter with my father’s ghost, and plan to enact revenge on a murderous uncle, there are still certain parallels between our personalities. Just like Hamlet, I think too much. Decision making is a lengthy process for me, as it is for Hamlet, because I consider every option, as well as their benefits or consequences. I am that hopeless daydreamer who will occasionally zone out in conversation because I noticed a tree that has striking red and gold leaves. Of course, as seen in Hamlet, over thinking has its disadvantages. Sometimes taking action is a much better route to success, especially if you’re plotting murder. But in the end, I think it’s good to practice a healthy mix of both introspection and action. After all, rash and hasty decisions will not get you very far either.

Royal-Mail-Stamps-RSC-Hamlet

As an artist, my greatest challenge is overcoming the blank canvas. There are so many options for a new piece of artwork how can I possibly choose just one? Like Hamlet, I struggle everyday with my inner critic/philosopher. By thinking about everything, sometimes I fail to accomplish anything at all. By utilizing that healthy mix- the sweet spot between an idea and making the idea a reality- I succeed in creating a great piece of artwork.

 

 

Leave a Reply

